How to Write a Business Plan | SBA.gov
Service or Product Line. What do you sell? How does it benefit your customers? What is the product lifecycle? Get tips on how to tell the story about your product …
Academic Search Premier
Index and full text of magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines. This is usually a good place to start your research.
Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
General Business File
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.
Small Business Resource Center
Includes insights, tips, strategies and success stories.
Business Economics & Theory
With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics.
Small Business Collection
Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.
Website for Barron’s weekly financial magazine, which offers access to the weekly edition, business news, and stock information. Entering a company name into the website search box provides “Companies & Quotes” option, which leads to up-to-date company information as well as historical stock information and sections about the company and other financial information..
Note: Index coverage of Barron’s Magazine issues is available via our Gale Databases.
Website for the bimonthly magazine with core topics including business, technology, stock markets, personal finance, and lifestyle. Forbes periodically compiles lists of people and companies with certain characteristics (e.g. America’s Largest Private Companies). Searching the website for a company name provides basic company information, including its placement on any Forbes lists.
Note: Index coverage of Forbes Magazine issues is available via our Gale Databases.
Bi-weekly magazine specializing in business, investment, career, management and small business information, also home of theFortune 500 along with other rankings. Searching the website for a company name or stock symbol provides a CNN Money summary page about the company, including recent stock performance, news, growth & valuation, and recent stock performance of selected competitors.
Note: Index coverage of Fortune Magazine issues is available via our Gale Databases.
EDGAR (database of SEC filings)
EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering Analysis and Retrieval) is the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission’s database of company information. Search for official company filings including 10-K’s, 10-Q’s and many more using the EDGAR system back to 1994.
Annualreportservice.com This is a free Internet service that will enable potential investors to review a company’s annual report in an easy convenient manner.
American Consumer Satisfaction Index
The American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI) is the only national cross-industry benchmark of customer satisfaction in the United States. This strategic economic indicator is based on customer evaluations of the quality of goods and services purchased in the United States and produced by domestic and foreign firms with substantial U.S. market shares. The ACSI measures the quality of economic output as a complement to traditional measures of the quantity of economic output.
globalEDGE Global Insights
Provides international business and trade information on over 200 countries, the 50 U.S. states, as well as nearly two dozen industry sectors, and many of the world’s trade blocs.
CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
|R 330.03 F911||Friedman, Jack P.||Dictionary of Business Terms|
|R 650.03 K96d||Kurian, George Thomas||The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management|
|R 650.03 S425a||Scott, David Logan||The American Heritage Dictionary of Business Terms|
|R 658 B979||Business: The Ultimate Resource|
|R 658.022 S635||Small Business Sourcebook : The Entrepreneur’s Resource|
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A library database with links to encyclopedias and reference books in a variety of subjects. Includes business plans and business histories and much more.
Ebsco Ebook Collection
The library’s collection of downloadable ebooks.
BookBoon eBooks: Business
Free ebooks on business topics such as accounting, communication skills, finance, management, marketing, organization, sales, and software products like Microsoft Office.
Note: ebook download requires you to provide an email address.
Overview of current business news including stock prices, news, and commodity and industry trends.
An aggregator of current business news including stock prices, histories, and trends.
Wall Street Journal MarketWatch
Market information including currency, bond, and commodities news and data, market and sector indexes, and interactive charts. Searching a company’s stock symbol provides a summary of that company’s recent stock performance.
The Public Register
get free annual reports on Publicly traded companies
|808.06 W749a||AMA handbook of business writing : the ultimate guide to style, grammar, punctuation, usage, construction, and formatting|
|658.408 S421s||Scofield, Rupert.||The social entrepreneur’s handbook : how to start, build, and run a business that improves the world|
|658.406 T248v||Wacker, Watts.||The visionary’s handbook : nine paradoxes that will shape the future of your|
Census.gov: Business & Industry
Economic and industry data compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau from numerous government surveys and reports.
Economic Indicators.gov is brought to you by the Economics and Statistics Administration at the U.S. Department of Commerce. Our mission is to provide timely access to the daily releases of key economic indicators from the Bureau of Economic Analysis and the U.S. Census Bureau.
North American Claissification System – NAICS. – U.S. Census
This site provides a detailed descriptions of the direction relationships between classification systems. e.g. NAICS to SIC’s, NAICS 2007 to 2012, NAICs to ISIC (International Standard Industrial Classification).
U.S. Census – Industry Snapshots by NAICs Codes
U.S. Census – Industry Statistics Sampler
Information by 2-digit NAICs Code
BLS – Bureau of Labor Statistics – Industry Projections
BLS – Bureau of Labor Statistics – Employment Matrix Search by Industry
Use MANTA to find NAICS code
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
FedStats provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the federal government.
Statistical Abstract of the United States: Business Enterprise
United States Census Bureau information about business topics, including data on the number, type, and size of businesses; financial data of domestic and multinational U.S. corporations; business investments, expenditures, and profits; and sales and inventories.
Statistics and data pertaining to financial markets and the economy from SIFMA (Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association).